Pumpkin Pie “French Toast Cups”

It has been an extraordinarily long time since I last posted to my blog. I cannot believe that July was the last time I made a post.  I have multiple excuses for allowing it to fall to the wayside…One excuse is that I have a two year old little girl who demands attention every waking moment of her day. Another excuse is that my husband is three months shy of finishing his degree, and as we reach closer and closer to that graduation date it seems that more and more of his time is spent doing school work…which in turn means less and less time for him to spend with our daughter giving me any sort of alone time. I have also started two other projects which have proportionately taken up what very little free time I do have to spend on anything other than my house, husband, and daughter.

All of the above are simply just excuses, but the real reason is that I have not made me time a priority. I love baking and I love sharing my recipes with people, so here I am! Back and ready to bake! In honor of Thanksgiving I made a delicious breakfast recipe I like to call Pumpkin Pie “French Toast Cups.” These are fantastic, light, and perfect to serve the morning of Thanksgiving while the big dinner is being prepared. You can even make them the night before, and then bake them in the morning, so that you do not have to clean up pots and pans from breakfast. Enjoy!

Pumpkin Pie “French Toast Cups”

INGREDIENTS:

6 eggs

½ cup coconut milk (or any kind of milk you have)

½ cup pumpkin puree

¼ cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 tsp molasses

1 ½ tsp pumpkin pie spice

One medium loaf of bread or 3 small loaves (I had three small loaves of whole wheat bread at hand)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Use a bread knife to cut your bread into small cubes. Put the cubed bread into a large bowl and set aside.

 

Small cubes of bread

In a smaller bowl, first whisk together the eggs and milk until light and frothy.

In a larger bowl mix together brown sugar, vanilla, molasses, and pumpkin puree. Add the egg mixture to this mixture. Once the two are well incorporated, add the 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and stir well.

Pour this batter over the bread cubes and let the mixture soak in for a few minutes, using a spatula to make sure all of the bread is well soaked/coated with the batter.

Batter soaked bread ready for the baking cups

Spoon the bread into one dozen muffin cups. Reusable silicone baking cups are fantastic for this sort of recipe because the bread has nothing to stick to, and you don’t need to grease the pan. If you don’t have reusable silicone cups, then you will definitely need to grease the pan first.

Bake for 25-30 minutes at 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

Hot out of the oven

Serve with syrup, powdered sugar, or whipped cream.

Bon Appétit

Happy Thanksgiving everybody!